Make a Patient Inactive

Make a Patient Inactive


Make a Patient Inactive

 When a Patient is marked as Inactive, new Charges and Appointments cannot be added for that Patient. But, from a billing perspective, existing claims can be batched and sent, and statements will continue to be batched and sent if the Patient has a balance.


  1. In the Demographics panel on the Patient Dashboard, select Modify.

  1. To make the Patient inactive, deselect the Active box at the bottom of the Modify Patient screen.
  2. Select Save and Continue [F2].

  1. A Validation Warning will display.
  2. If Save & Continue is selected:
  • All future Appointments will be canceled.
  • If the Patient is re-activated, the Appointments will need to be manually rescheduled.
  • The Patient will be cleared from the Reschedule Queue.
  • All open Recalls will be deleted.

Results of Making a Patient Inactive

  • The Patient will no longer display in the Patient look-up results unless the filter is set to Include Inactive Patients or Only Inactive Patients.

  • The Patient will be marked as Inactive on the Patient Dashboard and on the Appointment screen.
  • Select the Reactivate Patient link to make the Patient Active again.

  • Future Appointments that were canceled can be seen in the Patient Appointments Panel on the Patient Dashboard.


    Learn More

    Indicate a Patient is Deceased

    Modify a Patient's Information